Results

Lawrence Evans mail: lawrence.evans@innovation-km.com | web: lawrence.innovation-km.com | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 21:56:40 GMT
Europe hit by lightning strikes
Lightning strikes in France, Germany and Poland cause death and serious injuries, with the victims including children at a birthday party in a Paris park.
Patrick White mail: patrick.white@affablyhomonym.com | web: patrick.affablyhomonym.com | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 17:14:55 GMT
WHO seeks to allay Zika Olympics fears
The World Health Organization plays down concerns that the Rio Olympics will spread the Zika virus, amid calls for the Games to be postponed.
Patrick Turner mail: patrick.turner@klarkzon.eu | web: patrick.klarkzon.eu | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 21:48:58 GMT
Real Madrid 1-1 Atletico Madrid (5-3 pens)
Real Madrid are crowned champions of Europe for the 11th time after defeating Atletico Madrid in a penalty shootout.
Antonio James mail: antonio.james@hockeymail.de | web: antonio.hockeymail.de | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 12:31:03 GMT
Rider dies in pre-TT race practice
A rider dies and another is seriously injured in a crash during the pre-TT races.
Jimmy Dixon mail: jimmy.dixon@ventredi.eu | web: jimmy.ventredi.eu | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 17:40:37 GMT
Miliband 'call to arms' for young voters
Former Labour leader Ed Miliband issues a "call to arms", urging young people to register to vote in next month's EU referendum.
Allen Cooper mail: gmail@klarkzon.eu | web: allen.klarkzon.eu | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 18:21:41 GMT
Hull City 1-0 Sheffield Wednesday
Hull City defeat Sheffield Wednesday in the Championship play-off final at Wembley to win promotion to the Premier League.
Vincent Shaw mail: vincent.shaw@thedarkswans.com | web: vincent.thedarkswans.com | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 11:58:15 GMT
Officer dismissed for 'ignoring' stabbing
A Metropolitan Police sergeant is dismissed for failing to respond to a fatal attack in which a man was stabbed more than 200 times.
Marvin Hughes mail: google@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: marvin.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 13:51:25 GMT
Thailand speedboat British victim named
A British woman who died after a speedboat capsized near the island of Koh Samui in Thailand is named as Monica O'Connor.
Vincent Lee mail: vincent.lee@ventredi.eu | web: vincent.ventredi.eu | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 16:55:50 GMT
Putin visits all-male Orthodox enclave
Russian President Vladimir Putin joins celebrations to mark 1,000 years of Russian monks at the monastic enclave of Mount Athos in Greece.
Ryan Mcdonald mail: ryan.mcdonald@geheime.club | web: ryan.geheime.club | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 16:12:08 GMT
Ticking security tag sparks bomb scare
A city centre department store is evacuated after a faulty electronic security tag making a loud ticking sound was mistaken for a bomb.
Jesse Gibson mail: jesse.gibson@geheime.club | web: jesse.geheime.club | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 19:42:43 GMT
Royal marks Battle of Jutland centenary
Princess Anne and Scotland's First Minister Nicola Sturgeon join commemorations of the centenary of the largest naval battle of World War One.
Mark Crawford mail: mark.crawford@ventredi.eu | web: mark.ventredi.eu | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 21:47:57 GMT
Soldier magician wins Talent final
Army bandsman Richard Jones wins the final of this year's Britain's Got Talent, after his magic act impressed the judges and won the votes of the viewers.
Lee Carter mail: lee.carter@thedarkswans.com | web: lee.thedarkswans.com | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 09:53:37 GMT
VIDEO: Onboard camera captures rocket landing
An onboard camera has captured the successful landing of SpaceX's Falcon 9 rocket, returning from space after launching an Asian communications satellite.
Daniel Washington mail: yahoo@hockeymail.de | web: daniel.hockeymail.de | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 07:43:56 GMT
VIDEO: Giant cruise ship 'a construction site'
Some of the first paying passengers on the world's biggest cruise ship have described it as "a construction site" and a "serious risk to those on board".
Billy Washington mail: billy.washington@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: billy.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 09:51:03 GMT
VIDEO: The religious sites closed to women
BBC News takes a look at sacred sites around the world where women are banned.
Chris Roberts mail: chris.roberts@horse-d.eu | web: chris.horse-d.eu | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 17:45:18 GMT
VIDEO: Centenary of the Battle of Jutland
The centenary of the Battle of Jutland is being commemorated in Rosyth and South Queensferry.
Chad Reynolds mail: chad.reynolds@horse-d.eu | web: chad.horse-d.eu | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 14:49:27 GMT
VIDEO: Estonian triplets run for Olympic glory
A set of identical triplets will make history as they compete against each other at the summer Olympics in Rio.
Nicholas Perez mail: gmail@thedarkswans.com | web: nicholas.thedarkswans.com | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 10:36:28 GMT
VIDEO: 'World's biggest' bouncy castle arrives
Festival-goers are invited to have a go on what is claimed to be the world's largest bouncy castle.
Alan Gonzalez mail: alan.gonzalez@innovation-km.com | web: alan.innovation-km.com | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 10:03:50 GMT
VIDEO: Young fans on Roald Dahl's weird words
The BBC asks some of Roald Dahl's biggest fans what they think of his language.
Jacob Gonzalez mail: jacob.gonzalez@thedarkswans.com | web: jacob.thedarkswans.com | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 13:31:20 GMT
VIDEO: The artist subverting the selfie
David Henry Brown Jr, an artist based in New York City, says the punk ethic in his bizarre self-portraits mocks "the representation of every cliche, trope and stereotype on Instagram".
Chris Cooper mail: chris.cooper@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: chris.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 00:03:51 GMT
Verdun: France's sacred symbol of healing
The site of the longest battle of World War One, Verdun has become a symbol of European reconciliation, says Hugh Schofield.
Sean Long mail: gmail@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: sean.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 07:21:37 GMT
Key Chavez supporter decries Venezuela 'anarchy'
One of Hugo Chavez's key allies, retired Maj Gen Cliver Alcala, criticises the leader's successor and says Venezuela is mired in "anarchy", as the BBC's Will Grant reports.
Daniel Thompson mail: daniel.thompson@innovation-km.com | web: daniel.innovation-km.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 14:21:21 GMT
Could French fuel strikes affect travel?
Q&A on the effect on Britons travelling in France following industrial action being taken by French workers, who are blockading oil refineries as part of their dispute.
Alfred Boyd mail: google@hockeymail.de | web: alfred.hockeymail.de | when: Thu, 26 May 2016 12:50:07 GMT
How steel workers' pensions could be hit
The government wants to reduce pensions payable to steelworkers, to make Tata Steel UK more attractive to a buyer - but how much will they lose?
Arthur Butler mail: arthur.butler@affablyhomonym.com | web: arthur.affablyhomonym.com | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 15:30:44 GMT
Chinese theme park 'to take on Disney'
China's richest man opens a huge entertainment complex in the city of Nanchang to compete with Disney, which is launching its own theme park next month.
Harry Crawford mail: harry.crawford@horse-d.eu | web: harry.horse-d.eu | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 11:38:01 GMT
Kim Jong-un aunt 'lives American Dream'
An aunt of North Korean supreme leader Kim Jong-un is running a dry-cleaning business in the US after defecting in 1998, the Washington Post reports.
Fred Ramirez mail: fred.ramirez@affablyhomonym.com | web: fred.affablyhomonym.com | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 18:48:16 GMT
Moeen and Woakes put England in control
Moeen Ali hits 155 not out and Chris Woakes takes 3-9 as Sri Lanka end day two on 91-8, still 407 runs behind in the second Test.
Billy Garcia mail: yahoo@innovation-km.com | web: billy.innovation-km.com | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 19:35:51 GMT
Djokovic ends Bedene run in France
Top seed Novak Djokovic ends Aljaz Bedene's hopes of joining Andy Murray in the fourth round of the French Open.
Fred Martinez mail: gmail@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: fred.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 15:46:33 GMT
Engine problem cost me pole - Hamilton
Mercedes' Lewis Hamilton admits it is tough to deal with the run of technical problems that have hit him this year.
Philip Harris mail: yahoo@thedarkswans.com | web: philip.thedarkswans.com | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 16:24:33 GMT
Glover and Stanning lead GB into finals
Britain will have 10 crews competing for medals at the World Rowing Cup after Helen Glover and Heather Stanning were one of five to reach Sunday's finals.
Lee Fisher mail: lee.fisher@daftest.website | web: lee.daftest.website | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 20:00:30 GMT
Energy suppliers vent comparison fears
Independent energy companies want consumers to be able to see all available tariffs when using price comparison websites.
Vincent Mason mail: vincent.mason@thedarkswans.com | web: vincent.thedarkswans.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 14:25:31 GMT
HMRC loses £50m Qatar tax appeal
HM Revenue & Customs loses an appeal to recover up to £50m in stamp duty from the sale of the Chelsea Barracks.
Chris Watson mail: google@pulpfrictions.com | web: chris.pulpfrictions.com | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 17:21:42 GMT
Blair warns against Corbyn 'experiment'
It would be a "very dangerous experiment" for the UK to give Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn power, former Labour Prime Minister Tony Blair warns.
Ryan Owens mail: ryan.owens@horse-d.eu | web: ryan.horse-d.eu | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 12:32:09 GMT
Vote Leave launches £50m football contest
Vote Leave offers a £50m prize for correctly guessing the results of every Euro 2016 game - but the contest is called a "con" by the Remain campaign.
Dennis Cruz mail: dennis.cruz@geheime.club | web: dennis.geheime.club | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 12:54:21 GMT
Children 'denied mental health support'
Mental health services turned away more than a quarter of children referred for support without help in England in 2015, a report says.
Arthur Rodriguez mail: arthur.rodriguez@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: arthur.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 10:22:47 GMT
Scots Ebola nurse 'may never run again'
The Scottish nurse who survived Ebola says she has been left with permanent weakness in her leg and will probably never run again.
Edward Martin mail: edward.martin@innovation-km.com | web: edward.innovation-km.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 13:35:56 GMT
Child death inquiries to be overhauled
The system of inquiries into child deaths in England where neglect or abuse is suspected will be overhauled, says the government
Shawn Long mail: yahoo@affablyhomonym.com | web: shawn.affablyhomonym.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 17:16:53 GMT
Cambridge University to remain with NUS
Cambridge University will remain affiliated to the National Union of students after a referendum of students rejected a motion to leave.
Chad Torres mail: chad.torres@horse-d.eu | web: chad.horse-d.eu | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 11:01:15 GMT
Three announces mobile ad-block trial
Mobile service provider Three confirms it will block advertising on its network for a day-long trial in June.
Rosemarie Perdok mail: rosemarieperdok@outlook.com | web: https://profile.live.com/cid-7cd3f97991c2d348/ | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 20:23:28 GMT
Cooling technologies become red hot
Sainsbury's is trialling new food-cooling technologies that promise to be more eco-friendly than current alternatives.
Arthur Shaw mail: arthur.shaw@hockeymail.de | web: arthur.hockeymail.de | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 11:11:25 GMT
DNA 'tape recorder' to trace cell history
Researchers invent a DNA "tape recorder" that can trace the family history of every cell in a body.
Allen Gray mail: allen.gray@pulpfrictions.com | web: allen.pulpfrictions.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 12:17:58 GMT
Geologists revisit giant Zion landslide
US scientists produce their most precise date yet for the colossal landslide that shaped the big red canyon running through what is now Zion National Park.
Philip Lewis mail: philip.lewis@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: philip.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 12:46:28 GMT
Dahl's swashboggling words celebrated
Swashboggling, squishous and frobscottle are among thousands of Roald Dahl's gobblefunk words in a dictionary celebrating the centenary of the writer's birth.
Allen Richardson mail: allen.richardson@innovation-km.com | web: allen.innovation-km.com | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 15:12:12 GMT
Butchart wins Children's Book Award
Pamela Butchart's My Head Teacher Is a Vampire Rat, illustrated by Thomas Flintham, has won this year's Children's Book Award.
Kyle Hughes mail: kyle.hughes@hockeymail.de | web: kyle.hockeymail.de | when: Wed, 25 May 2016 23:48:43 GMT
I had to leave my partner to lose weight
Celena and her partner Pete separated for 10 weeks to break their bad habits and lose weight.
Peter Foster mail: peter.foster@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: peter.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Mon, 23 May 2016 21:10:52 GMT
The US veterans going back to live in Vietnam
More than 40 years after the end of the Vietnam war dozens of ageing former American soldiers have gone back - and have succeeded in finding peace.
Dennis Shaw mail: dennis.shaw@thedarkswans.com | web: dennis.thedarkswans.com | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 00:01:57 GMT
Week in pictures
A selection of the best news photographs from around the world, taken over the past week.
Harold Gordon mail: harold.gordon@thedarkswans.com | web: harold.thedarkswans.com | when: Wed, 25 May 2016 03:12:52 GMT
In pictures: The barbers of Freetown
The people who shape hair in the capital of Sierra Leone
Kenneth Harrison mail: kenneth.harrison@ventredi.eu | web: kenneth.ventredi.eu | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 23:34:47 GMT
What animals can swim up your toilet?
The animals that might swim up your toilet
Vincent Garcia mail: yahoo@innovation-km.com | web: vincent.innovation-km.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 20:34:33 GMT
How much do models really get paid?
How easy is it to make a living as a model?
Dennis Harrison mail: google@pulpfrictions.com | web: dennis.pulpfrictions.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 23:00:03 GMT
The most Canadian band in the world
Are Tragically Hip the most Canadian band in the world?
Peter Gibson mail: peter.gibson@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: peter.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 00:02:14 GMT
Riot's legacy of shame and pride
The riot with a legacy of shame and pride
Jeffery Robinson mail: jeffery.robinson@geheime.club | web: jeffery.geheime.club | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 10:05:20 GMT
VIDEO: Obama's many bombproof limos
The No Such Thing as The News team on Obama's armoured limos
Edward Jackson mail: edward.jackson@klarkzon.eu | web: edward.klarkzon.eu | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 23:28:08 GMT
The Unabomber and the Norwegian mass murderer
How the Unabomber and his Nordic fan want you to listen
Alfred Henry mail: alfred.henry@klarkzon.eu | web: alfred.klarkzon.eu | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 23:39:17 GMT
The jailed rapist looking for love online
Should violent prisoners be allowed to look for love online?
more